Stages of child development according to maria montessori

It is through this manipulation of various materials that children learn to recognize quantities, sequence, and patterns.

stages of growth and development from infancy to adulthood

This makes the child of this age different from any other time of life. Childhood Age This stage of growth is calm and stable.

montessori theory of play

The Montessori products also reflect each stage. The Second Plane: Ages 6—12 Childhood Between the ages of 6 and 12, the child is creating her intelligence, and more importantly, a conscience.

Montessori curriculum

From , they are settling in with what they want to take on. The intensity of interest during a sensitive period is unlike at any other time. The Second Plane of Development: Conscious Imagination The elementary years ages six to twelve can be identified by three main characteristics: the move from concrete to abstract thinking, the development of reasoning ability, and a focus on social relationships. This is a time for children to spend time discovering themselves and exploring their creative or artistic side. This plane also brings a sensitive period for developing morals and ethics. Psychologically, the teenager is unstable; he or she becomes very sensitive to criticism. In other words, to learn skills for independent human living such as building, cooking, sewing, and maintaining a budget. From birth until age 3 the child is, without any effort, soaking up everything about his world like a little sponge; this is the unconscious, absorbent mind. She was never able to create such a school, but she did write about her ideas for it. Additionally, these earliest years are a sensitive time for bonding with parents or primary caregivers. Children want to learn more about the reasons behind things. The greatest changes take place during the first 3 years of life.

The second and fourth planes are also similar. Maria Montessori called this The Cosmic Plan. Children under the age of three absorb information without conscious effort. It is at this stage that children first begin to distance themselves from their families.

Montessori method

Music develops the brain, leading to academic, social, and emotional growth. This is why we emphasize modeling the behavior that we, as teachers, would like to see in the classroom. All academic learning should be connected to real life skills: cooking, gardening, sewing, car repair, etc. A child in this stage becomes inquisitive, imaginative, and spends more time thinking things through, including tackling moral and ethical quandaries. They develop a strong sense of individuality and a determination to do things themselves. Throughout all three of these characteristics, the child is consciously taking charge of her learning, and directing her questions, explorations, and connections based on personal interests and desires. Maria Montessori called this The Cosmic Plan. It enables the child to acquire the culture of her environment. Since that time nearly years ago, study after study has substantiated her findings. Montessori asserted that development is intense at the beginning of a plane, peaks, and then tapers down to the next plane, in preparation for the beginning of a new stage of development. Around age 3 years, children experience a sensitive period for learning rhythm, pitch, melody, and more. When you think of it this way, can you blame young children for being egocentric? The four stages begin at birth and extend to adulthood; together they make up a holistic look at the process of development and include social, cognitive, moral, and biological changes. The child at this stage needs to do things by herself.

She is conscious of her thoughts, and the fact that she can think for herself. She does not act on a willed choice, nor have a conscious memory.

montessori developmental checklist
Rated 5/10 based on 82 review
The Montessori Difference / Planes of Development